Reading…is living.

photo-1455651264681-40d634a35ce4

Reading a book is like going for a walk, taking a journey in to the unknown. They say that reading makes you smarter, this is true but, reading is more. Reading is living, loving, hating, laughing, crying and growing. Every book I read, every page I turn and every word I read makes me better. I’ve always loved reading, but lately my interest has been growing.

When you don’t enjoy reading, I think your doing something wrong. I don’t know what, maybe you should try a different book, get to know your genre, change your mindset. I don’t know, but in this post, I am going to try to change the way you (whoever you may be) look at reading.

Proven facts of reading :

  1. It makes you smart! Yeah I know it’s a cliché, but it’s true. Even if you just learn the meaning of a new word, that’s more than you knew before taking on the book.
  2. Reduces stress. Even if it doesn’t take away your problems it helps you forget about them for a while.
  3. It improves your memory.
  4. Improves focus and concentration.
  5. You get to live more lives than non readers.

 

photo-1457276587196-a9d53d84c58b

Now how to get started?

  1. Choose a comfy setting.
  2. Get all of your tools. (coffee, book, pillow, snacks)
  3. Choose an entertaining book, read reviews before hand. Ask people. Choose a book with good comments.
  4. Sign up on Goodreads. Use the site to find books in the specific genre that you are interested in. Rate books. Read reviews. Write reviews. Get social.
  5. Take your time!

“A book is a gift you can open again and again” -Garrison Keiller

W6IGRFTZK1

Leave a comment